Work fun in New Orleans

To celebrate the Fourth of July, I had the pleasure of traveling to New Orleans to attend the ESSENCE Music Festival for work with some of my fabulous frolleagues. It was my first time in the city and luckily we had a few hours of free time each night, so we took full advantage. Here’s what we saw and – most importantly – ate.

I landed Thursday afternoon, took care of some work things and then we went out to dinner at The Delachaise off St. Charles Avenue. We started with the flank steak bruschetta, which was phenomenal, and then I had the Cuban twice-cooked pork for dinner (also delicious).

After a full day of work on Friday, a few of us decided to stroll down Bourbon Street to take in the sights and then grabbed dinner at Oceana Grill, where I had the blackened chicken and we all got hurricanes. We then met up with the rest of our group for drinks at the revolving Carousel Bar in Hotel Monteleone. We kept the party going by moseying over to Frenchmen Street to listen to some music at The Spotted Cat and celebrated on of our frolleague’s birthday. To close out the evening, we just had to swing by Cafe du Monde on our way back to our hotel for some world famous beignets.

Saturday was another busy workday, but we returned to Bourbon Street for some cocktails and jazz at Irvin Mayfield’s I Club before a fantastic dinner at Emeril Lagasse‘s NOLA Restaurant, where we started with pizza topped with duck confit and fried egg and an order of barbecued gulf shrimp and I had fried chicken with bourbon mashed sweet potatoes and sugar snap peas (amazing)!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After a two hour delay in New Orleans and a cancelled flight out of Chicago, I finally made it back to Seattle – exhausted and completely stuffed with delicious food! If you haven’t been to New Orleans, I strongly recommend a visit and definitely plan to return in the near future!

If you’re curious about what brought me to New Orleans, go here, here or here (videos coming soon).

